Breakaway IMP Bait Clips

67
based on 9 ratings
in

Customer Reviews

You must have an account to leave a review, please register an account with us or use our one-click Facebook login to leave a review

Login to Review

Other Reviews

  1. Used these before I moved to the Gemini solo splashdowns and found when going to do a off the ground cast they would release and stopped using them
    75
    Posted by 2016-06-19 14:01:57
  2. Imps are a great clip but agree with Phil quality has gone down hill I have had a good amount snapped and bend out never used to be like that cost saving gone wrong imo.
    48
    Posted by 2016-06-02 11:45:54
  3. Hmmmmm,,, these used to be brilliant... Far from it now. They have always been fiddly little sods to put together, that's fine, and when they work, they work brilliantly. But, unfortunately it seems that the metal they now make the bodies out of is now shockingly bad. Over two weeks fishing in the very cold -5 to -10 in Northern Norway I had about 12 of these fail by either bending way out of shape on the cast (pendulem, but not mega powerfull) or just completely snapping and losing a lead after casting in. Would not recomend these at all now as potentially dangerous on the cast. Not happy. Go back to your original steel Breakaway and stop being cheap-skates !
    1
    Posted by 2016-03-10 22:22:07
  4. I really like these, they're the only clip I use now, ive had no issues with them at all, although the biggest bait I use is a small whole squid. However they are a real pain to put together!
    80
    Posted by 2015-12-29 21:24:59
  5. Nice for clip down match rigs, when using small hooks, though I don't find it as forgiving as just using the clip on a breakaway impact lead. Get the tension slightly wrong on the SRT Spring on the clip down rig and these sometimes don't release. Also need to make sure you don't feather the spool on impact too much, as this maintains the tension in the line and stops it releasing too. Works, compact, but I feel there are better alternatives for smaller baits (impact lead, solo clips) and better for big baits - impact shields. Damn pain to put together too.. Apparently you can get them pre connected for a premium, but I've not seen these anywhere myself.
    60
    Posted by 2015-12-14 22:15:12
  6. Must admit to not being so keen on these. Big baits in a side wind tend to come unclipped. Unfortunately most of my fishing involves at least a modest size bait so I prefer to use an Impact Shield. If you're using smaller baits such as worm or a small sandeel, they do the job though.
    65
    Posted by 2015-12-14 20:53:46
  7. The ultimate alternative to a brekaway impact lead.. 100% fail safe and cant get sand and clay stuck in the device as easy as the impact leads or other clip down alternatives
    100
    Posted by 2015-12-07 18:39:39
  8. have these on most of my rigs never fail to release the hooks
    100
    Posted by 2015-12-05 21:12:11
  9. Imps are a nice compact clip that i find work well with the smaller hooks i use when match fishing. i prefer the impact shields for larger hooks/baits. The only problems i have found with the imps is that if the spring on the rig applies too much tension or if the cast is thumb braked too hard before the rig hits the sea, the small vane fails to flip round and release the hooks.
    80
    Posted by 2015-12-04 21:01:41